4. The Eu (Withdrawal Agreement) Act 2020

The European Parliament must approve the withdrawal agreement, which is expected to be presented on 29 January 2020. The Council of the EU must then take a formal decision to approve the Withdrawal Agreement, which must also be signed by the parties. The UK will leave the EU on 31 January 2020 at 11pm UK time. However, as has already been said, the transition period means that relatively little will change immediately. Most of these instruments are expected to enter into force on 31 January 2020 at 11 p.m. However, the Withdrawal Agreement postpones the entry into force of these instruments until the end of the transition period, also known as the “IP closing day” (defined as 11 p.m. on 31 December 2020). In accordance with the provisions of the Withdrawal Agreement, the United Kingdom has entered a transition period, also known as the “implementation period”. .